A transparent strategy for success

Nova SBE was created in 1978 as part NOVA University of Lisbon that has acquired foundation status in January 2017. By tradition, its statutes and by laws, the University works as a “confederation” of units, providing extensive autonomy to its faculties, namely in managerial and financial decisions, staff and faculty recruitment, and pedagogical and scientific matters. 

In addition to the core entity - Nova SBE, which hosts degree programs, faculty, key research programs and most back office functions, the School has developed a network of partner organizations statutorily bounded to it: Nova Forum, which handles Executive Education activities, and a private Foundation curated by the main donors, Alfredo de Sousa Foundation, responsible for fundraising, construction and management of the Carcavelos campus. 

Management Structure

Nova SBE counts with several management structures that establish the strategic guidelines of the School, coordinate its implementation and manage the administrative and financial resources in the scientific, academic and pedagogic dimensions of School’s performance. 

The Faculty Council is composed of eight faculty members (elected by vote), one student (representing the student body) and five external members (holding important positions in society), thus forming Nova SBE's central governing body. The board elects the Director and monitors their activity. This body is also responsible for overseeing key strategic developments and any accounting issues.

Luís Amado
Luís Almeida Costa
Vice President
José Galamba de Oliveira
External Member
José Soares dos Santos
External Member
Maria João Carioca
External Member
Sofia Tenreiro
External Member
António Nogueira Leite
Faculty and Researchers Representative
Álvaro Ferreira Silva
Representative of faculty members and researchers
José Tavares
Representative of faculty members and researchers
Luís Campos e Cunha
Representative of faculty members and researchers
Miguel Pina e Cunha
Representative of faculty members and researchers
Pedro Pita Barros
Representative of faculty members and researchers
Vasco Santos
Representative of faculty members and researchers
António Luís Leão de Sá Coelho
Students Representative


"O Conselho de Faculdade da Nova SBE, reunido a 19 de março de 2019, decidiu por unanimidade atribuir um caloroso e reconhecido voto de louvor ao Professor Pedro Santa Clara pela extraordinária dedicação e invulgar competência demonstradas na construção do novo campus, no decurso do mandato que lhe foi conferido por este conselho em 2012".

Vote of Praise to Professor Pedro Santa Clara

The Council of Nova School of Business & Economics appointed Professor Pedro Santa Clara, in 2012, to manage the construction project of a new campus. In February 2019, Professor Pedro Santa Clara presented a final evaluation status of the project, namely, in what concerts its finances, which complements the information collected in 2018.

The Nova SBE Council would like to express its gratitude and recognition for the work carried out by a vast team in different aspects of the project, from construction to fundraising, and also for drafting legal and financial solutions that made the new campus possible.

The Nova SBE Council highlights the commitment, the sense of purpose, and leadership that Professor Pedro Santa Clara demonstrated throughout these years. The campus that we see today would not be possible without this exceptional dedication and work quality.

For these reasons, the Nova SBE Council, which gathered on March 19, 2019, would like to express a kind and heartfelt vote of praise to Professor Pedro Santa Clara for the extraordinary dedication and outstanding competence shown in the construction of the new campus and throughout the term of office that was attributed by this Council in 2012.

Executive management is the responsibility of the Dean, which is selected by, and responds to, the School Council, and an Executive Committee of Associate Deans and Executive Directors, which meets twice-a-month.


Daniel Traça
Leonor Colaço
Executive Administrator
Rita Cunha
Associate Dean for Pre Experience

Academic and Scientific aspects, including curricular changes and faculty recruitment and promotion, are run by the Faculty Council, which includes a large share of the faculty. The Faculty Council meets 4 times per year. Its President is elected by its members.

Dean of Faculty and Research and President of Faculty Council

Supervises the main pedagogical challenges and includes faculty and student representatives.

President of the Pedagogical Council
Cátia Batista
Fernando Anjos
João Pedro Pereira
Melissa Prado
Patrícia Xufre
Associate Dean for Pre Experience

The Faculty and Researchers Council is an advisory body of the Faculty Council, made up of all full-time faculty and researchers and also by the professors who may be invited by the President of the Faculty Council, who chairs. This Council shall meet at least twice a year.

Dean of Faculty and Research and President of Faculty Council

The Nova SBE Advisory Board is established pursuant to the Dean’s decision. It is a non-statutory board. The responsibilities of the Advisory Board in supporting the Dean and the School strategy include:

  1. Provide non-binding commentary on Nova SBE’s competitive strategy and options for the future;

  2. Discuss social, economic, technological and political changes affecting, in the short- and long-term the activity of Nova SBE and produce coping strategies;

  3. Identify areas in which Nova SBE can be a significant agent for positive change at the international level and generate strategic avenues to strengthen impact in those areas;

  4. Foster innovation, impact and internationalization;

  5. Leverage the members’ international network, representing a wide range of sectors and nationalities, in support of the School.

Ana Balcão Reis
President of the Pedagogical Council
Filipa Luz
Executive Director for Brand, Communication and Marketing
Joana Pita Negrão
Executive Director of People & Culture
Leonor Colaço
Executive Administrator
Luís Veiga Martins
Executive Director of Community Engagement & Sustainable Impact
Mafalda Barbosa
Chief Technology Officer and Digital Transformation
Maria Nolasco
Executive Director of Pre Experience Programs
Miguel Ferreira
Dean of Faculty and Research and President of Faculty Council
Miguel Pina e Cunha
Academic Director of Executive Education
Pedro Brito
Associate Dean for Executive Education & Business Transformation
Pedro Oliveira
Senior Academic Advisor for Innovation & Strategic Development
Rita Cunha
Associate Dean for Pre Experience
Sofia Vala
Executive Director of Faculty & Research
Victoria Winter
Executive Director of External Relations